Ryan Jamaal Swain, Hailie Sahar, Dyllon Burnside, Angel Bismark Curiel, Mj Rodriguez and Janet Mock attend the 29th annual GLAAD Media Awards on May 5, 2018, in New York City.
Photo: J. Merritt (Getty Images for GLAAD)

Red carpets are our “must-see TV” here at The Glow Up, and this weekend wasn’t a disappointment with the 2018 GLAAD Awards. This was one of our favorite red carpets of the year, just because it was so free. In fact, we think GLAAD should seriously consider renaming the ceremony the “Free to Be You and Me” awards—because isn’t that what it’s really all about?


At any rate, we love the freedom of this annual awards ceremony—now in its 29th year—and we love the increasing visibility of LGBTQIA folks in mainstream media. But what was the coolest this year was that black women were at the forefront. Ava DuVernay, Samira Wiley and Jay-Z’s mother, Gloria Carter, were all honored for highlighting the unique stories and struggles of LGBTQIA narratives in their work, further expanding the breadth of humanity that mainstream media includes.

As for us? We love the way the GLAAD Awards audience comes out (pun intended) to celebrate this special night, which, this year, took place at the Midtown Hilton in New York City. From recognizable faves to dragged-up divas, the GLAAD Awards is one of the freest ceremonies of the year!

Gloria Carter
Laverne Cox and guest
Brandon Wolf, Geena Rocero, Raymond Braun and Mathew Lasky
Gloria Carter (second from left) and guests
Guests attend the 29th annual GLAAD Media Awards.
Reggie Bullock (right) and guest
Nathan Lee Graham and guest
Nathaniel Cline and Yamiche Alcindor
Lauren Morelli and Samira Wiley
Alexis Michelle and Dusty Ray Bottoms
Eliza Lathan
Nico Tortorella
Danielle Moodie-Mills and Aisha Moodie-Mills
Robin Roberts
Adam Lambert
Emil Wilbekin
Angelica Ross
Ross Mathews
Phillip Picardi
Asia Kate Dillon
GLAAD board member Tiffany R. Warren
Dyllon Burnside
Janet Mock
GLAAD Executive Vice President of Development Tamara Stewart
Alex Newell
Geena Rocero
Amiyah Scott and Justin McManus
Nedra Belle
Blair Imani
Eliel Cruz
Marquise Vilson